Lubiaz – Grodziec – Boleslawiec
|No of people:||1||2||3||4||5||6||7||8|
|Price € /person:||220||120||90||70||60||55||50||50|
Included in the price: hotel pickup, transportation, parking fees, driver/guide, taxes, entrance fees.
Groups of 9 and more people are requested to contact us for special prices.
The Cistercian Abbey in Lubiąż
1. The Cistercian Abbey in Lubiaz- The Cistercian monastery complex in Lubiaz is one of the largest monuments of this category in Europe, and at the same time is the largest Cistercian abbey in the world. The Abbey is known as the masterpiece of Silesian Baroque.
The monastery complex is the second largest example of sacred architecture in the world after the monastery palace of Escorial in Spain. The abbey covers an area 2 ½ times larger than the Wawel castle and has more than 600 windows. The area of just the roof is about 2.5 hectares, and the length of the facade is 223 meters, making it the longest Baroque facade in Europe. Within the monastery complex are included:
- The basilica of the Assumption of the Virgin Mary from 1307-40, which was built from the remains of a Romanesque church to the Virgin Mary from the 12th C.
- Palace of the Abbots (17th-18th C .),
- the auxiliary church of St. James,
In the crypt under the Gothic basilica are the tombs of the Silesian Piast dukes (including Boleslaw the Tall) as well as the mummies of Cistercian abbots and monks. 98 mummies are still preserved in good condition for us to admire.
Rising atop a steep basalt, volcanic rock hill, at 389m, in picturesque surroundings, is the fairy tale structure of the Grodziec Castle.
The first confirmed reference to Grodziec comes from a Papal bull of Hadrian IV from April 1155. In 1175, the duke Boleslaw Wysoki granted privileges to the Cistercians from Lubiaz here. During the reign of his successor, Henry the Bearded, the timber and earthen structure was replaced by stone. The foundation of the castle church is attributed to St. Jadwiga. In the 14th and part of the 15th C the castle belonged to the noble Bozywojow family.
During the Hussite wars the building was captured and pillaged by Hussite troops. In 1470 it was purchased by Duke of Legnica Fryderyk I. He brought in master stone masons from Wroclaw, Legnica, and Gorlitz who gave the structure its current spacial layout. After the duke’s death, work was continued on the orders of his son, Fryderyk II. As a result, Grodziec became one of the most beautiful Gothic-Renaissance residences in Silesia. The completion of the work coincided with the wedding of the duke to the duchess Sofia von Hohenzollern. To celebrate this event a reception and famous tournament of knights was held.
During the 30 years’ war the castle was captured and burned by the army of the duke Albrecht Wallenstein. Because the damage was so great and the castle no longer served any military purposes, some of the fortifications were blown up after the war’s end. In the 17th and 18th centuries there were attempts to rebuild Grodziec, though they were never very successful. Only in the year 1800, when the owner of the property became the German Duke Jan Henryk VI von Hochberg from Ksiaz and Mieroszow were serious renovation and reconstruction works undertaken.
The works were interrupted for a short time during the Napoleonic Wars, but by the 1830s the castle was already a destination for many tourist excursions. In those days it was considered the first monument especially adapted for the purposes of tourism.
During the years 1906-1908 the Castle underwent thorough reconstruction. The castle housed a museum of Silesian Gothic and Renaissance art, a hotel and restaurant. In 1945 the castle was burned by the Russians. In the 1960s it was partially rebuilt.
In 2004-2005 the castle was used as a film set by various European television companies: Swedish, French, Belgian, and Russian
In 2007 and 2008 Russians filmed scenes here for the films „The Devil’s Flower” and “Taras Bulba”
Currently the castle hosts regional and international events.
Bolesławiec – a pottery town
Boleslawiec is located in the NW part of the Lower Silesian region, close to the Czech and German borders. Picturesquely situated in the valley of the Bobr River, surrounded by the Lower Silesian Wilderness area, it is one of the pretties cities of the region. The town boasts a urban layout and historic monuments that have been lovingly restored. Since the Middle Ages Boleslawiec has been famous for ceramic production, known on practically every continent. The biggest event in town, The Boleslaw Ceramic Celebration attract tourists from around the world and features a rich array of cultural events. Among the attractions are the town hall, fortifications, Kutuzow monument, Ceramics Museum, court house, Joseph Jung town house, and the railway viaduct. The local ceramic factories, which produce hand painted ceramics, also attract visitors, where its possible to watch production or purchase ceramics at reasonable prices at the factory shops.